A rooky mistake?

cropped-kilimanjaro.jpgYou know when you sign up to something thinking it would be a fantastic idea and you have so much positivity about it? You’re excited about the whole prospect of new challenges, experience and spontaneity. But, as the process moves forward, sometimes these feelings can slowly become distant memories. The excitement of signing up becomes regret and the idea of being spontaneous turns into anxiety and you think to yourself, ‘oh my god, what have I actually got myself into?’

Well I signed up to climb Mountain Kilimanjaro this year in aid for cancer.

I know what you’re thinking. Wow! and yes so am I, but i can’t hide the fact that I am absolutely bricking it. Not only do I have to raise a ton of money and somehow carry on with my degree, but I have to climb Africa’s highest mountain, over a period of 6 days, where we will be trekking for 12 hours at a time.

Some may see this as an opportunity to get fit, but as I see it as I have no choice. Having made the decision to join the gym and to commit myself at least 3 times a week is a challenge in itself.

I know I seem to be having a moan and rant to you, but I am genuinely excited to be able to have this experience given to me. It will be mentally and physically challenging and i hope that with this blog, I can take you on the journey with me. I will share my preparation up to it, my highs and lows and of course many pictures!

Safe to say, this will be a ‘Kili’ of a climb.

S x

Leave a Reply

